why this blog isn’t going to wordpress.org

DSC_81802One of the biggest steps of rebranding my blog was supposed to be transferring from wordpress.com to wordpress.org

This was going to be huge because that would mean I could have the ability to control almost everything about this blog and pay some fees to get there (you can see a breakdown of the fees at the very end).

I would have my own domain for this blog. heyiris.com was not available (it got taken by some yoga teacher on tumblr) which got me thinking about changing up my blog name. I will probably do that, but not just because of the domain.

Now. Here’s something else I wanted. I wanted my own domain for me, not my blog. I’m fourteen which means there’s a big chance I have many years ahead of me. Who know’s what I will be doing for a living. But I do know that having an iriszhou.com will help me a lot when looking for that job and maybe even the work I wil be doing at that job.

So, was I to buy two domains? Two hosting plans, for two sites? That would result in some fees and time that I just can’t afford now, or in the next few years.

I did a lot of brainstorming for what I could do. My current plan is to buy that personal domain and hosting for that site. Because buying a domain also means I have the subdomains, the subdomain blog.iriszhou.com will become the link for this blog, and this blog will stay with wordpress.com, for now.

This plan works well for me theoretically, but I still will have to test things out when the time comes. I’ve looked into other sites besides wordpress.com that might be better for me, but so far I haven’t found one. Hopefully, by the time this blog needs (and I mean needs) the powers of wordpress.org, my budget will be big enough for the both of them. 🙂

And that’s my plan.

In case you want to move from wordpress.com to wordpress.org, I would recomend checking out this article. As for the fees, I will be getting my domain from namecheap.com for $10/year (you can get monthly coupons that work from here), hosting from Laughing Squid for $6/month, and adding a domain to this blog for $13/year.

Tell me about your blog situation and how it’s working for you in the comments below, I’d love to learn more.

3 thoughts on “why this blog isn’t going to wordpress.org

  1. Holy cow! You’re more self motivated at fourteen than I am at twenty-five. That’s awesome! Only in the past year have I begun to really think about self-promotion etc.
    In response to your question about my ‘blog situation’, I’m waiting until I have a little more interaction and demand before I think about taking steps towards a personalised domain name and/or moving to wordpress.org.

    • Haha, thank you! It’ll definitely be a while before these things actually happen, though. And I think that waiting until your blog is a bit bigger is a good idea, I just don’t know when (or even if) that would happen to my own blog. 🙂

  2. Pingback: favorite blog post of 2014 | zhou

Howdy.

