E.E. Cummings

I don’t think there is any other popularly quoted person in history that I love more than E. E. Cummings.
His quotes are often about emotion and the sea, two thinks that speak to me. And his use of parentheses, spacing, line breaks, and structure adds to the power of his words and how they feel.

The first quote, “for whatever we lose (like a you or a me), it’s always ourselves we find in the sea” is my absolute favorite. First because the sea (or any body of water, really) is where my heart and soul is, and secondly, because I am forever trying to find myself. This quote is me.

And, man, do I need a E.E. Cummings book of poetry. On my shelf. Now.

Howdy.

