plateaus: the boring part of a journey

20140427-173558.jpgI’ve always found the middle part of everything (except for food) to be pretty forgettable. School, instruments, activities, all of it. And recently, I found out that I’m not crazy for feeling so.

I have a cello competition on Friday. I didn’t want to do it. But I got stuck with it so I thought I’d at least try. After practicing for a long time, I felt like I wasn’t getting any better. And I definitely wasn’t. Then I read a i-don’t-even-know-if-i-can-trust article, it told me that improvement from practicing isn’t a linear line. It goes up, plateaus, and goes up again.  You keep working and working, practicing, and doing the problems. But you won’t feel any better or smarter. The improvements happen after a bunch of working  and you’ll climb up another level.

I also read another article saying that the way professional athletes get so good is by knowing how to get through the boring parts. The boring parts? It’s those plateaus. I now realize how important motivation is. Motivation to get through those boring parts and get to the the a higher step on the awesomeness ladder.

I used the app Unstuck, I talked about it a long time ago, and I got that I needed to find some way to make school and things I didn’t want to do enjoyable or art-related (’cause art is like my bestie). And I’m trying that, really. That’s how I plan on getting through the rest of school.

 

There. I wanted to share with you the things I’ve learned in the past few weeks. Learned something or wanna share a story about motivation? Comment.

 

Howdy.

