books.

20140409-174231.jpgGuess what guys. I read. Yes, I actually read books, not just blogs.  🙂 I’ve seen so many book hauls on YouTube, all from bookstores, and I thought I would do my own. The thing is, I go to the library. I don’t get why people don’t to the library more, I mean it’s free and you get endless books. And they have some great books from well, the olden days haha. Here are the books that I got (for three weeks haha):

Too Much Happiness by Alice Munro

Ten short stories that are… kinda depressing. They are deep and written incredibly well (I’ve read one story so far). This is the summary on the inside cover: “In the first story a young wife and mother, suffering from the unbearable pain of losing her three children, gains solace from a most surprising source. In another, a young woman, in the aftermath of an unusual and humiliating seduction, reacts in a clever if less-than-admirable fashion. Other tales uncover the “deep-holes” in a marriage, the unsuspected cruelty of children, and, in the long title story, the yearnings of a nineteenth-century female mathematician.”

The Banyan Tree by Christopher Nolan

Written by a boy whose mute and paralyzed, this story is so inspirational and has such great imagery in just the first few chapters. here’s the summary: “Full of humour and unexpected imagery, this story follows Minnie O’Brien’s progress, as a young bride sipping her first and only glass of port wine in Dublin – ‘the city of just about right’ – and as a widowed mother discovering that the husband she loved had secrets he kept even from her.” (btw I just realized how much I sound like the summary- it honestly has fab imagery!)

An Object of Beauty by (the) Steve Martin

Art. New York. Writing. Climbing the ladder. YES. I was sold. Summary: “Full of humour and unexpected imagery, this story follows Minnie O’Brien’s progress, as a young bride sipping her first and only glass of port wine in Dublin – ‘the city of just about right’ – and as a widowed mother discovering that the husband she loved had secrets he kept even from her.”

The Flame Alphabet

Reading the summary reminds me of Divergent, possibly because it;s another dystopian novel but also probably because I imagined everything being dark as I read the cover like when I read Divergent (being underground, I pictured it to be pretty dark). see for yourself: “A terrible epidemic has struck the country and the sound of children’s speech has become lethal. Radio transmissions from strange sources indicate that people are going into hiding. All Sam and Claire need to do is look around the neighborhood: In the park, parents wither beneath the powerful screams of their children. At night, suburban side streets become routes of shameful escape for fathers trying to get outside the radius of affliction. With Claire nearing collapse, it seems their only means of survival is to flee from their daughter, Esther, who laughs at her parents’ sickness, unaware that in just a few years she, too, will be susceptible to the language toxicity. But Sam and Claire find it isn’t so easy to leave the daughter they still love, even as they waste away from her malevolent speech. On the eve of their departure, Claire mysteriously disappears, and Sam, determined to find a cure for this new toxic language, presses on alone into a world beyond recognition. The Flame Alphabet invites the question: What is left of civilization when we lose the ability to communicate with those we love? ”

 

And there you go. I’ll be off reading in a corner now.

3 thoughts on “books.

  1. I’m a library patron too! Why pay for a book you want to read when you can get it for free? Got your beautiful birthday card in the mail! Thank you, Iris! I will treasure it always 🙂 have a great day!

Howdy.

